Want to know a secret?


I will be honest here and say I only started to play World of Warcraft (from now on known as WoW) to be able to understand at least one thing our then teenage son was talking about. I then got hooked myself and just had to keep playing. I then sadly got sick and found out that Yay, WoW actually helped reduce my pain whilst I was playing it.

 

I have played now for six years and the funny thing is my son stopped playing about three years ago but I just can not stop and don’t want to stop. I role play and think the reason it helps me reduce pain is because I immerse myself totally while playing. That just means I play in character the whole time, even when I am by myself questing, I will talk to my companion pet or hunter’s Pet if I am Triell, my main character who as you will have probably guessed is a hunter. I also talk away to the Npc’s , they are just characters the makers put in, they don’t talk back to me but I still talk away.

 

It is not just the fact that playing reduces my pain, I love playing this game so much as I can run, jump, be amongst other people, some of whom still don’t know I am disabled. I have made so many friends and some of them I have grown to love because their friendship is given unconditionally.

 

I am not saying that this will help anyone else but that you should try and find at least one thing that can take your mind off the pain you have to go through. I write, meditate and if it’s a good pain day I can normally concentrate on reading also. I will go and make a list of other things that may help you distract yourself from the pain and put it up on the blog as soon as I can.

 

Hope this has helped a little and will start work on the list straight away.

 

I hope you have a good pain day

Mrs G

Leave a Reply

